You are here


Register for the 2019 Hyperloop Pod Competition by September 28.
SpaceX is revolutionizing terrestrial transportation through its Hyperloop services. The company currently provides these services to innovators and universities across the world interested in high-speed transportation technology and solutions. The Hyperloop system built by SpaceX at its headquarters in Hawthorne, California, is approximately one mile in length with a six foot outer diameter.

The Official SpaceX Hyperloop Pod Competition

SpaceX announced the Hyperloop Pod Competition in 2015. The competition’s goal is to support the development of functional prototypes and encourage innovation by challenging student teams to design and build the best high-speed Pod. The first three competitions were held in January 2017, August 2017, and July 2018, and were the first of their kind anywhere in the world.

Based on these successes, SpaceX has moved forward with the fourth installment: the 2019 Hyperloop Pod Competition. As with previous competitions, the competition will be judged solely on one criteria: maximum speed with successful deceleration (i.e. without crashing), and all Pods must be self-propelled. The key updates to the rules for the 2019 competition are:
  1. Teams must use their own communications system. SpaceX will not provide an on-Pod communications system, otherwise known as the Network Access Panel (NAP).
  2. Pods must be designed and tested to propel themselves to within 100 feet of the far end of the tube before stopping. This can take the form of a single main run to that point, or a “slow crawl” after the Pod’s main run has been completed.
The competition will take place in summer 2019 and is open to both new and returning student teams. To register, review the 2019 Rules and Requirements and submit an Intent to Compete Form by Friday, September 28, 2018 at 11:59pm EDT.

Note: This competition is a SpaceX event. SpaceX has no affiliation with any Hyperloop companies, including, but not limited to, those frequently referenced by the media.
Break a pod!
Additional competition support provided by:
The Boring Company
For additional information on the Hyperloop, visit