You are here

Dragon Resupply Mission (CRS-16)

On Wednesday, December 5, 2018, SpaceX launched its sixteenth Commercial Resupply Services mission (CRS-16) to the International Space Station. Liftoff occurred at 1:16 p.m. EST, or 18:16 UTC, from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida.

Dragon is filled with more than 5,600 pounds of supplies and payloads, including critical materials to directly support more than 250 science and research investigations that will occur onboard the orbiting laboratory. Dragon separated from Falcon 9’s second stage about 10 minutes after liftoff and will attach to the space station on Saturday, December 8.

The Dragon spacecraft for the CRS-16 mission previously supported the CRS-10 mission in February 2017. After stage separation, Falcon 9’s first stage for this mission diverted to a soft landing in the ocean. SpaceX plans to retrieve the booster with the hopes of flying it again on an internal SpaceX mission.

SpaceX’s coverage of Dragon’s arrival and capture on Saturday, December 8 will be streamed live at spacex.com/webcast starting at about 1:30 a.m. PST, or 9:30 UTC, with capture targeted for about 3:00 a.m. PST, or 11:00 UTC. In the meantime, you can watch a replay of the live launch webcast below and find out more about the mission in our press kit.